8. Mario Maker Strikes Again – A Friday Fictioneers writing exercise

8. Mario Maker Strikes Again – A Friday Fictioneers writing exercise

<– PREVIOUS | TOC | NEXT –>

It’s always great to practice writing, and as a newbie, I really need practice. Here’s a little practice writing.

“Mama!” Michael called from downstairs.

“Yes?”

“My remote is dead!”

I heard the thump-thump as he came running up. “So, do you have any batteries?”

I looked at his Bowser Wii remote. “Where’s the cover?”

“Downstairs.”

I pried my eyes from my book. “So, go get the batteries from the Toad remote.”

Battery Jar

photo provided by © Sean Fallon.

“Alex used those for his helicopter.”

“What about the Yoshi remote? I’m not using it.”

“I needed those for the frog lamp for my fort.”

Sighing, I pulled out two fresh rechargeable batteries. “Here.”

“What do I do with the old ones?”

“Throw them in the jar, please.”

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple. Her writing challenge is to write a complete story using 100 words or less using the photo as a prompt.

I discovered this through a blog post by Archon’s Den. Glad I saw this, thanks!

Sue H

Featured Image
Photo provided by © Sean Fallon.

7 thoughts on “8. Mario Maker Strikes Again – A Friday Fictioneers writing exercise

  1. Dear Susan,

    Yep, sounds like a modern family. It’s a good thing the batteries are rechargeable.
    Welcome to Friday Ficitoneers. Our little community is very encouraging. Have fun reading and commenting on other stories. Together, we grow as writers.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the welcome! Unfortunately, the carpet is no help. I know this because this was not really so much a story as a report of what has and does often happen in my very household. And yes, I do indeed have a Yoshi remote. Hands off, please, it’s mine. 🙂

      Like

  2. I laughed remembering that most of the batteries powering other items in my home could always be found in his game remotes – up until the day he moved out (at 20). Brought me a smile and a bittersweet reminder. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you - don't forget a link to your blog/site!

