G is for GET OFF MY SOAP BOX ALREADY – A to Z Blog Challenge (G) #atozchallenge

G is for GET OFF MY SOAP BOX ALREADY – A to Z Blog Challenge (G) #atozchallenge

Part of “Beat your Inner Bully and Find your Confidence” (A-Z #965)
<- F | A-Z TOC | ZtoH TOC H ->

You know I actually took a moment last night to reflect on my A-Z Challenge blog posts.

Man, am I getting sick of myself.


I think my problem is that when I feel that I have something to say, I have to GRIND IT IN TO THE GROUND and discuss it in detail and cover every aspect I can think of. Might come from the programmer side of me.

While I feel that I’ve brought up some interesting topics, my posts are too dang long.

Let me try super hard to make this one super short.

Guilt Trip
Everyone tries to guilt you into improving (“You really don’t want to take 10 years off of your life with those eating habits, do you?”).

Improving doesn’t mean the same thing to everyone, and what works for one may not work for you. And who’s to say you even ‘need’ to improve in the first place.

Just because someone tells you that you should do something “for your own good” doesn’t actually mean you should feel like you have to do it. Don’t let them make you feel bad. Their problem is – well – their problem.

YOUR TURN

Here’s where you can thank me profusely for not filling your inbox this time with a super huge post that puts you to sleep.

 

6 thoughts on “G is for GET OFF MY SOAP BOX ALREADY – A to Z Blog Challenge (G) #atozchallenge

  1. I really like the advice from the friend of Gail, in the comment above mine, “I don’t do guilt.” Well said. It does seem that most of the time when people hound or harass you and tell you that their advice is for your own good that they are really trying to fix something that is wrong or broken inside of them and not you. And the harder they push to fix you, the more damaged they are. At least that’s been my experience. Healthy, stable, confident, people who are happy and content with their own lives just don’t feel the need to go around trying to meddle in others lives. It’s okay not to feel guilty when you politely tell them you are fine Just the way you are and that If you need their opinion in the future, you will be sure to ask. Be firm when you let meddlesome people know you don’t want or need their advice. They don’t take subtle hints.

    Melissa Sugar
    http://melissasugarwrites.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! It’s funny, learning about writing has finally taught me how to catch my wordiness in my programming work (like emails and tech documents) as well as my speaking. My husband makes fun of me for using 100 words to say “Yes, I enjoyed that.”

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you - don't forget a link to your blog/site!

