I is for I can’t choose! – A to Z Blog Challenge (I) #atozchallenge

I is for I can’t choose! – A to Z Blog Challenge (I) #atozchallenge

Part of “Beat your Inner Bully and Find your Confidence” (A-Z #965)
<- H | A-Z TOC | ZtoH TOC J ->

Thanks to Alex Schuler and Cassie from Mommy, RN for suggesting suggesting today’s 2 topics: Identity: Know Thyself; and Independence/Insecurity.


Identity: Know Thyself

When I hear the phrase “Know Thyself” I don’t just think of what I like and dislike, and my ideosynchrasies, I also try to figure out what things push my buttons.

Many times our insecurity is caused by something we are already uncomfortable with. If we think our hair is too grey, then we will immediately react negatively any time hair is mentioned. When we show a negative reaction based upon our triggers, we may display our insecurity to others, and that can hurt us under many conditions.

If we know our triggers beforehand, we perhaps can make mental preparations, or we can make choices to either avoid uncomfortable situations, wait until we are alone or in trusted company, or find out how to work on that trait (if that is something we desire to do).

Credit: Alex.

Independence/Insecurity:

If we learn to be more comfortable with ourselves the way we are, and less insecure, we end up giving ourselves much more freedom to do things. We don’t pose as many limitations on ourselves, both from the result of us being uncomfortable with things, and from the result of having left bad impressions (burning bridges).

Conversely, the more insecure we are, the more everything bothers us. The more things bother us, the more guilty we feel that we’re bothered, and the more insecure we feel. Big bad spiral.

Credit: Cassie from Mommy, RN.

YOUR TURN

Insecurity: When you’re in that spiral of insecurity that makes you feel worse and worse, what do you do to break out of that?

Featured Image
Copyright: 123RF Stock Photo

I'd love to hear from you - don't forget a link to your blog/site!

