Love yourself? Nope, just be comfortable – A to Z Blog Challenge (L) #atozchallenge

Love yourself? Nope, just be comfortable – A to Z Blog Challenge (L) #atozchallenge

Part of “Beat your Inner Bully and Find your Confidence” (A-Z #965)
<- K | A-Z TOC | ZtoH TOC M ->

Drat!! I officially fell behind!! Here’s yesterday’s post…

Thanks to Jen Seriously for suggesting suggesting today’s topic: Love yourself? Nope, just be comfortable.


Love yourself? Nope, just be comfortable
I’ve always felt the phrase “learn to love yourself” leads us in the wrong direction, or just feels so soupy now, that we miss the meaning behind the cliche.

I don’t have to love myself. I probably never will. And that’s fine, because if I feel that I can make improvements, then I will always strive to do so.

My goal is that feeling of comfort – of feeling right at home – but with myself. That homey feeling like I can just take it easy, relax, and walk around in my jammies and there’s no one there to give a single care about what I’m doing. I won’t feel like I’m doing anything wrong, and I won’t feel that I have to justify my actions or my feelings to anyone, including to myself.

When I no longer feel embarrassed by myself or my actions, past or present; when someone can criticize my ability and I don’t take it personally; when I can firmly say, and believe, “I can do that” because I know my own strengths and my weaknesses (and I’m okay with those weaknesses); then I can truly say that I know who I am. Then I can say that I love myself.

Do I love myself? Nope, not yet.

But I will.

Credit: Jen Seriously.

YOUR TURN

When you thing of “being at home with yourself” what does that mean to you? Do you have any examples?

Featured Image
Copyright: yuriz/ 123RF Stock Photo

One thought on “Love yourself? Nope, just be comfortable – A to Z Blog Challenge (L) #atozchallenge

I'd love to hear from you - don't forget a link to your blog/site!

