My car seats just so many – A to Z Blog Challenge (M) #atozchallenge

My car seats just so many – A to Z Blog Challenge (M) #atozchallenge

Part of “Beat your Inner Bully and Find your Confidence” (A-Z #965)
<- L | A-Z TOC | ZtoH TOC N ->

This is about knowing your limits [without short-changing yourself] and not feeling guilty about acknowledging that limits do indeed exist. It’s okay not to be Superman.

Really.


My TODO List for 4/15:

  1. Work a full day.
  2. Write today’s (and yesterday’s) A-Z Challenge Blog Post.
  3. Visit at least 5, preferrably 10, other bloggers. Truly read their posts. Comment.
  4. Go through my Gmail. Keep current on two active conversations.
  5. Log back in to work, need to deploy code after hours. Test. Fix and re-deploy if needed.
  6. Research that writing topic that really, really interested me yesterday.
  7. Do my physical therapy exercises. Force myself to drink (gag) water.
  8. Pizza night – it’s Friday!
  9. Wait up for son – first school dance – how exciting!
  10. Finish my re-write of scene one, chapter one, and fix my plot change in scene one, chapter two.
  11. Sleep 8 hours minimum, for health.

Nope, ain’t gonna happen. Just ain’t – AIN’T. I’m not a hero like the people I write about. I’m not Superman (-woman, whatever), I’m not that-lady-I-can’t-remember-her-name-who-did-a-million-things-a-day, and I do not have 37 hours in a day, which is just about what I need to finish this list.

And this is just today’s list.

I have the unbelievable privilege and honor of having a husband who stays at home and takes care of the kids. He brings them to school, coordinates homework, buys groceries, cleans the house…..am I making the ladies jealous yet?

I cannot even envision what it’s like for a mom or dad who has a list similar to mine AND has to take care of their family, kids or otherwise.

We all just have too much to do. Sometimes, we do it to ourselves, and sometimes it’s out of our control. If we can recognize it, and have some say over it, we can choose to cut some out that are not 100% necessary. Sometimes, we just have to stay up through the night and do them all whether we like it or not. I’ve had my fair share of overnight hospital visits and emergency code fixes.

The key is – do not feel guilty that you can’t do it all. The other guy can? Good for him – rock on. That single mom has three kids and two jobs and after school activities? All the power to her, go moms. Your financial situation would ease up if you could just rush that project done a little faster? Sure, that would be nice. But with me, it ain’t gonna happen. I can’t do it all and that’s fine.

I got through work, and the kids come first. Everything else will just have to wait in line.

YOUR TURN

When you thing of “being at home with yourself” what does that mean to you? Do you have any examples?

Featured Image
Copyright: gajus / 123RF Stock Photo

I'd love to hear from you - don't forget a link to your blog/site!

