Respect yourself – A to Z Blog Challenge (R) #atozchallenge

Respect yourself – A to Z Blog Challenge (R) #atozchallenge

Part of “Beat your Inner Bully and Find your Confidence” (A-Z #695)
<- Q | A-Z TOC | ZtoH TOC S ->

I’m sorry, my friends!! I needed to de-stress, so I boycotted my computer for several days. I’m way behind on posts, let alone on checking out blogs and comments and such.

Thanks to Jen Seriously for suggesting suggesting today’s topic: Respect yourself.

 


Respect Yourself
We spend time learning to “be nice” to others. We always use the Golden Rule – treat others the way we would want to be treated.

Why, then, are we always so mean to ourselves?

It’s one thing to be hard on ourselves – to see something we wish to improve, and push ourselves to achieve, to learn. But no good comes out of calling ourselves “lazy” or “stupid” or anything else derrogatory.

Chances are, we don’t even realize we’re doing it. We may be doing it because we were told along the way by “someone” (not just family, but friends and work) these same derrogatory comments. Perhaps they come from no one but ourselves.

Next time you call yourself a name, ask yourself: would I say this to my best friend? My boss? My family? If the answer is ‘no’ then you shouldn’t be saying it to yourself, either. It’s really not helping.

Credit: Jen Seriously.

YOUR TURN

How do you pick on yourself? How do you recover?

Featured Image
Copyright: yuriz / 123RF Stock Photo

I'd love to hear from you - don't forget a link to your blog/site!

